Rosario Garcia

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-Certified Postpartum & Infant Care Doula, Childbirth Educator

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Little Blossoms Birth & Newborn Doula Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula, Placenta Specialist, Newborn Care Specialist

About

AREAS SERVED: East Bay & Far East Bay, California (Brentwood, Oakley, Discovery Bay, Pittsburgh, Antioch, Benicia, Martinez, Concord, Clayton, Walnut Creek, Lafayette, Orinda, North Oakland, Berkeley, Alamdea, Stockton, Isleton, Rio Vista, Tracy, Modesto, Livermore, Plesanton, Dublin)

CONTACT INFO:

Email: littleblossomsnbcs@gmail.com

Phone: (925) 308-5943

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/littleblossomsnbcs/

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I think that people who choose to birth and postpartum work as a career ought to have some experience working closely with people at different levels and capacities. I feel that a good part of this work requires a great deal of active listening, patience and understanding towards others in a non-judgmental, professional manner. I also believe that anyone who does this work needs to have a good set of problem-solving skills or tools, and use good judgment when approaching challenges. Lastly, I feel that having experience in teaching others is extremely helpful in guiding and supporting clients.

What led you to become a Doula?: Birth work and newborn care is something that I have always done in some capacity or another. As a teenager, I helped friends in the delivery room who didn’t have the support of their families. Throughout college, I worked as a nanny serving families with newborns and young children. I ran a daycare for a year, and shortly after my husband joined the military, I began helping military spouses whose partners were deployed and had no support from their families. Again, I supported them throughout pregnancy, delivery and postpartum. In 2015, I learned that birth work existed outside of being a nurse or Ob/Gyn and that postpartum doulas and birth doulas were a thing, and since then I have been trying to learn as much as possible. I love birth, babies, and everything that encompasses those things, in 2018 I finished my BS in Child Development, and have been serving families as a postpartum doula as well as director of an early learning center.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

“Her vibe and presences is calming and joyfull. I forgot my hair was a mess, that I was braless and in my pjs most days and really looked forward to the days she was scheduled. My son would ask “where’s Bo?” Daily. She is a baby/child whisper and can swaddle a newborn and get them to sleep with mad skills. I can’t say enough good things about Ro and how comforting it was to have her come into our house and love our littles and help navigate the overwhelm that comes with parenting and toddler transition to being a new brother (it was rough on him). Ro helped us get through the roughest part. I can honestly say, I haven’t found better care for my children. I have found good care, but not Ro-care. She sets the bar high! I miss seeing her regularly” -Katie S

We were fortunate to have Rosario with us for our newborn daughter starting her first day at home, early August 2017. Neither my partner nor I had any experience with a newborn and our families were far away. Rosario came to our home (Mission Bay, San Francisco) for 6 hours/day for the first 1.5 weeks and then we reduced a bit thereafter for about 6 weeks. Rosario helped with everything: out first bath at home, learning how to help with gas and constipation, taking her temperature, and learning newborn cues. Our daughter loved Rosario and was always happy in her arms. The most important thing that Rosario gave was peace of mind. The only time I slept soundly those early days was while Rosario was with our baby. Rosario was punctual and responded quickly to any text messages. Rosario is trustworthy, knowledgeable, and warm. She saved this mother’s sanity. Those early weeks are so hard with little to no sleep. We were lucky to have Rosario with us during such a very special moment in our lives. -Kalpana R

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: One of my favorite parenting resource websites is infoaboutkids.org, it provides behavioral science on children, and is developed by the Consortium for Science Based Information on Children Youth and Families. Along with that, I also love Magda Gerbers RIE website, along with Janet Lansbury’s blog and website. My favorite pregnancy resources are the American Academy of Pediatrics, La Leche League and KellyMoM. I find that most of my clients feel that these resources are trustworthy and they typically find the information they are looking for rather easy.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I usually get super excited and wonder what type of support (if any) that they would like or need. I have not made it a habit to ask them questions as some people may not be comfortable with that.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: The best gift I give new parents is confidence in their own parenting. I provide families with care, education and non-judgmental support that provides them room to grow into their new roles as parents and a family. I give them the peace of mind that their baby will be safe and cared for while they rest and reconnect with themselves, their partners (if there is one present) and other children

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Currently my favorite TV is show is Mindhunter. I love True Crime television shows and documentaries.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: My favorite place to be is in the mountains, near a lake or the ocean. I love the mountains in the Pacific Northwest, Hawaii, and Colorado. I love hiking and spending my vacation days in nature. Typically, my vacations revolve around hiking and trying new yummy food.

What is your favorite food?: I am currently obsessed with Afghan food, I love Bolani (filled flatbread) and Borani Banjan (baked eggplant with spices and yogurt).

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I love taking day trips to the hot springs or hiking with my husband, son, and dog Flower. We love to discover new hiking trails that are nearby. I also love a typical girl's day with my daughter, where we get much-needed massages and eat at our favorite Indian or Afghan restaurants.

Who lives in your house?: I live with my husband Christopher, my daughter Charlotte (16), my son Gabriel (12) and our furbabies Cap'n TokiDoki and Flower.