Sarah Ste-Marie

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: The Fourth Trimester

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: Erath County and surrounding areas

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  940.632.7047

Email:  thefourthtrimester@yahoo.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Completed a 10 week Natural Childbirthing class through Birth Boot Camp. I had a vaginal water birth after a cesarean section at a birthing center. I have experience birthing/laboring in a hospital vs birthing in a birth center. I have 4 years personal experience in breastfeeding. I have experience with clogged ducts, milk bleps, and mastitis. I have experience with baby-led weaning. I have an ongoing of 4 years experience with cloth diapers. I have experience working with an OBGYN vs midwifery. I have experience working with a labor doula. I have experience with bedsharing and co-sleeping. I have had a hands on experience with assisting a laboring mom in a hospital setting. I have donated over 500oz of breast milk to 9 different families. I have wet nursed for a family when it was needed for their baby. I have experience with the different types of birth control offered to a postpartum mother. I have experience with having to return to work with a newborn at home. I have experience in successfully keeping a breastmilk reserve in the freezer when returning to work. I have experience in pumping when returning to work and pumping while at home. I have experience in switching baby from bottle to breast and vice versa. I have experience in working with babies who are formula fed. I have experience in finding a new schedule/routine with and newborn and multiple children in the house. I have experience with cluster feeding vs low milk supply. I have experience in babywearing with different types of carriers and slings. I have experience in proper carseat installment and using the carseat correctly. I have knowledge in the choices of non-vaccinating, delayed vaccination, and fully vaccination. I have experience with comfortably nursing in public with a cover and without a cover.

What led you to become a Doula?: After having my cesarean section with my first born, and thinking back on it, I just knew things could have been differently. Upon finding out I was pregnant with my second child I was determined to change the outcome. I made sure I gained all the knowledge possible for my VBAC and made my birth team up of people I loved and trusted and knew had my family and mines best interest in heart. Sharing my labor/birth/parenting experiences with others has led me to helping other families and friends when needed. I love seeing the joy and appreciation in their eyes when helping them!

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

You should write a book on everything you know! I would buy it! You are like the all-knowing mother. I’m so happy I came to you!

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Ina May's Guide to Natural Childbirth, Ina May's Guide to Breastfeeding, Dr. Sears The Vaccine Book, The Happiest Baby on the Block, The Greater Good DVD

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: Pregnant woman: I wonder what sort of things her family and her have done to prepare? Brand new mom: I wonder how her days are going?

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Encouragement in the choices she is choosing. Sometimes her closest family members/friends will disagree with a choice when what mostly the mother needs is encouragement.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Burlesque

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Rockport, TX

What is your favorite food?: Roast with veggies

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: The kids and I lounge around the house in our pjs and eat breakfast, then finally get dressed and go visit daddy at work, then come back and eat some lunch and then take a nap, once up from nap eat a snack and watch a movie on the couch until daddy gets home, and once daddy is home we all go for a walk or a bike ride until dinner!

Who lives in your house?: My husband Myself My daughter My son 2 dogs