Takaya Savoy

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor, Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: *

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor, Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

About

AREAS SERVED: Maryland, DC, and some areas of Virginia

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (404) 399-1523

Email: takaya_savoy@yahoo.com

 

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have raised three grown kids and assisted my daughter with her premature daughter who was born at 26 1/2 weeks and weighed 2 lbs. 10 oz. So, I have experience with preemies and all the care that they require. Spent extra time in the NICU so I am very aware of the ups and downs and the emotions associated with not going home with your baby and the trips back and forth to the hospital.

What led you to become a Doula?: I have been interested in Labor and Delivery since I was a teenager, but life took a front seat to my needs. I raised three girls as a single parent and always put everyone else's needs before mine and working these jobs that were just jobs to pay the bills and not fulfilling to me. The love of caring for infants and pregnant women has always been a passion of mine. And now that my girls are grown and have lives of their own, I figured what better time to do what I am passionate about.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Kind, loving, considerate, always willing to lend a helping hand to those in need, loves babies, someone who is very easy to talk to.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Other mothers, ob/gyns, pediatrician, LPN, RN, books, and the internet

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I just can't help but smile and just remember how special that time is and hope that she enjoys the experience.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Compassion and a voice of reason who LISTENS to her and for her to know that I really gets what she is saying.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Anything on the Hallmark channel(especially Christmas movies).

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Looking forward to a trip to Punta Cana.

What is your favorite food?: Seafood

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Reading or crocheting. I also love to dance. I love either cooking with my grand daughters or doing projects with them.

Who lives in your house?: Currently, I reside with my retired parents.