Tara Mehrer


CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum & Infant Care Doula


SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum & Infant Care Doula


AREAS SERVED: Kootenays - British Columbia, Canada


Phone: (250) 402-3331

Email: taramehrer@mvdoula.com

Website: mvdoula.com



Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have been a labour doula for the last 12 years, I have been teaching childbirth classes for the last five years, averaging 4 - six-week series a year with a few one-day classes thrown in the mix. I have been certified through DONA as a labour doula and trained through CAPPA Canada, ICEA as a Childbirth educator, and Prodoula as a Postpartum Doula. I have also taken a course through the local hospital for breastfeeding support. Continuing education is also important as new research comes out.

What led you to become a Doula?: As a support for my sister, 12 years ago, her Dr. suggested that I would be an excellent doula and encouraged me to become one.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I have had people tell me that I am a calm and gentle person. That they feel loved and supported around me. That I am spontaneous and have a great sense of humour. That I am a get it done kind of person.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: I love the ProDoula Facebook pages. BOBAD and SYTYCD, as well as a variety of other online sites. Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Newborn, as well as the Birth Partner.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I wonder if they are from town and whether or not they have looked into prenatal classes. If they need help finding support or resources for this time in their lives.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Non-judgemental calm support that empowers them to make their own choices and thus be the best they can be.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: The Princess Bride. Don't own a TV

What is your favorite place to vacation?: wherever I can do something with someone

What is your favorite food?: International food. I love to cook. Curry, Haitian, Stew, Pie,

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Snuggled on the couch with a good book.

Who lives in your house?: Myself, my Siamese cat, and my Parrot.