Alyssa Veneklase

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Certified Postpartum & Infant Care Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Gold Coast Doulas, LLC

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Support & Sleep Consultations

About

AREAS SERVED: Greater Grand Rapids and surrounding areas

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  616-828-3288

Email:alyssa@goldcoastdoulas.com

Website: www.goldcoastdoulas.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: From a very young age I was interested in helping families. I was a babysitter, got my CPR certification, volunteered wherever I could, and babysat whenever possible. Once I had my own baby, I became a source of encouragement and advice for my friends having children. I also have a background in safety, so that is a top priority. I currently have my CPR/First Aid/ AED Certification as well as an OSHA 10 hour certification.

What led you to become a Doula?: When I became pregnant with my daughter in 2012 everything changed for me. I was workin in an office setting in a very male-dominated industry. I love the company and my co-workers, but once I had my baby I realized I needed something different. I began searching and researching (because that is my personality!) and found the world of postpartum doulas, which was virtually nonexistent in my area. That meant opportunity! What are some positive comments made about you by other people?

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Alyssa is the sleep queen!
Alyssa has such a calming nature when dealing with sleep deprived parents.
Alyssa is kind and affirming.
Alyssa’s nurturing disposition is profound.
Alyssa has an innate sense for what parent’s need.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?:

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I remember how amazing it was to be pregnant, I loved every minute of my pregnancy. I also miss those tiny newborn snuggles. Not that I want to do either of them again, but I do love the beauty of pregnancy and the sweetness of a newborn. I also now how hard it was and want to offer that new parent any support I can.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: SLEEP!!!

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: New Girl

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Costa Rica

What is your favorite food?: Sushi

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I would workout in the morning, then get sushi for lunch with my family. Spend the day together doing something fun, preferably outdoors. Then get a babysitter and have a date night with my husband.

Who lives in your house?: I live with my handsome husband, my smart and sassy 7 year old daughter, and our puppy named Louie.