Ashley Mann

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-Certified Labor Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Essential Birth Co

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Support

About

AREAS SERVED: North Carolina

CONTACT INFO:

Email: Ashley.Mann0710@gmail.com

Phone: (913) 205-5194

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/ashley.mann.102

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have given birth twice and been pregnant three times. I was supported through a birth doula for the very long labor of our first child and I realized how much a doula contributed to the confidence, competency of both myself and my husband/birth partner. I have been an active duty military spouse for almost ten years and understand the fear and loneliness that are inevitable at times. I want to serve families of all backgrounds and especially those who do not have a strong support system in nearby family or are giving birth for the first time as it’s an honor to help empower and shape their birth experience that will stay with them for consecutive births as well as the rest of their lives.

What led you to become a Doula?: As stated earlier, I received doula care for my first pregnancy. Her steadfast nurturing care gave me more confidence in my own abilities to care for the baby both in the womb and out.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I am calm, nurturing, compassionate and sympathetic/empathetic. It’s easy for me to keep my own opinions separate from what the mother sees as the best for her and her baby. I speak quietly. I have a soothing touch.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Birthing From Within, Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth, our local community birth circles.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: First thought is wondering if she knows just how miraculous her body is? Second, I wonder how she’s feeling?

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Resources and choices so that they are confident going forward about their ability to bring their child into the world safely and with love. For first time parents, it’s an honor to be an instrument in shaping their perspective on future pregnancies, births and babies.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: As a child, I watched TLC’s “A Birth Story”. Nowadays, I enjoy documentaries and dramas.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: We have moved ten times from coast to coast in the last nine years. Though we haven’t vacationed, we lived in San Diego and I miss it the most.

What is your favorite food?: Spicy

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Cleaning the house or decorating our home.

Who lives in your house?: My husband and I have two daughters together, ages five and six. We have a labradoodle named Mac who is almost ten and chickens and goats are in the works in the next couple years.