Ashley Shaw


CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Infant Feeding Specialist


SERVICES PROVIDED: Infant Feeding Specialist Services


AREAS SERVED: Westchester and Rockland County NY


Phone:  (845) 642-7494



Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I am a Registered Dietitian and have always had a passion for prenatal and postpartum nutrition. I worked at WIC during my dietetic internship and mainly worked with the breastfeeding coordinator. In 2013 I took a DONA Doula workshop and really fell in love with the Doula world but have never been able to fit it into my Dietitian career. The IFS training is a perfect way for me to transition into birth work.

What led you to become a Doula?: My favorite classes as an undergrad and masters student were always those pertaining to women whom were pregnant and breastfeeding, and children under the age of 5. During my time at WIC, I found the pregnant women to be one of the most receptive and motivated groups I had ever counseled, and I knew I wanted to work with this population long-term. My master's thesis focused on feeding habits of young children (2-5 years old) and I truly enjoyed my field work every day.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

That I am warm and compassionate, but also very independent. Many people are often surprised by how much knowledge I have, usually because they assume I am about 5 years younger than I really am. I am also told that I my smile is very uplifting and that I smile a lot.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: American Pregnancy Association, American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pregnancy and Newborn Magazine, Baby Center, Baby List, Hello Baby Newsletter, Lactation Education Resource, Today's Dietitian

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: That they are probably overwhelmed but that so many people are giving them advice on what to do. I am thrilled for them and want to hold that baby!

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Support. Just letting them know that they are doing their best and it's okay.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: FRIENDS

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Paris

What is your favorite food?: Italian Food

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: I am currently 27 weeks pregnant so a day off for me is spent getting ready for baby - decorating the nursery, prenatal yoga, or cooking/freezing some food for post-delivery meals. Before I was pregnant, an idea day off would be spent with my husband, Ryan, and dog, Bernie, and we would go for a hike or to a dog park for a few hours and then have a nice home cooked meal and watch a movie.

Who lives in your house?: My husband and my dog. Ryan (husband) is a Physical Education & Health teacher in Yonkers. My dog, Bernie, is a 17 pound cockapoo that thinks he is a labrador. Also, he has a mohawk (the dog not the husband).