Christina Reiffer

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Labor

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: DownUnderDoula

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: Northern Virginia, Prince William County, Woodbridge, Dale City, Lake Ridge, Manassas, Quantico, Stafford.

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  928-502-1293

Email:  downunderdoula@gmail.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: While living in Australia I went through doula training and am now getting my cross certification with Prodoula. I have a BS in psychology and therapeutic recreation. I think this helps me to understand that birth is about the mind and the body.

What led you to become a Doula?: My interested in labor started when I had my own children, but then I was able to witness the birth of my nephew. Experiencing birth as a support person was so amazing! I knew I had to find a way to continue to work in that environment.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

People say I am friendly, calm, a good listener and empathetic.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Some of my favorite website resources are Birthwithoutfearblog.com, childbirthsolutions.com, and childbirthconnections.org. I also recommend Gentle Birth, Gentle Mothering by Sarah J. Buckley.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I just wonder how she is really doing. Is she getting enough support, sleep, help? Does she know she is doing a great job even when it doesn't feel like it?

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: The best gift I can give a new mom is reassurance. Reassurance that she is doing a wonderful job, and that she will one day sleep again! Also,sometimes just being there, to listen or sit quietly is the best gift you can give.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: This is hard, as I am a TV junkie. I watch Grey's Anatomy, The Middle, Modern Family, and the Goldbergs to name a few.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: A Disney Cruise.

What is your favorite food?: Bacon and dark chocolate.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Going for a long walk with my family, reading and watching tv.

Who lives in your house?: My husband, our four kids (3 boys, 1girl), and our dog Rooby.