Kristyn Blocher

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Certified Labor, Postpartum & Infant Care Doula, Postpartum Placenta Specialist, Childbirth Educator

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Doulas Northwest

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor, Postpartum & Infant Care Doula, Postpartum Placenta Specialist, Childbirth Educator

About

AREAS SERVED: Seattle, Bellevue, Tacoma, Olympia, JBLM, Pacific Northwest, Washington State

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (360) 602-1564

Email: info@doulasnorthwest.com

Website: www.doulasnorthwest.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: 10+ years supporting and serving families in the Seattle, Tacoma, Olympia areas of the Pacific Northwest as a Doula and Placenta Specialist. 3+ years as a Doula and Placenta Prep Trainer, and as of 2017, Director of Training & Development at ProDoula.

What led you to become a Doula?: I developed a love for pregnancy and birth during my own pregnancies. That love collided with the initiation of my career after being asked to support my best friend during one of her births. After that birth, the rest is history.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

People say I am a calm presence that feels steady and comforting. That I am professional and they appreciate the expertise I bring into their environment. And when necessary, that my clarity in intense situations is appreciated and comforting.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: My favorite right now depends on what kind of information or resource resonates with my client or loved one who is seeking it.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I wonder if this person believes in her abilities and whether she is confident in the support team she has in place. I always hope that she is.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Peace of mind and the space to build confidence in their own capabilities as a new parent.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Lonesome Dove, hands down. I’ll watch it til I die.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: In the woods in a cabin or camper. Cooking over the fire with a nice ale, and a river or the ocean nearby.

What is your favorite food?: Home cooked comfort food.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Without a schedule!

Who lives in your house?: My children and a couple of cats. Maybe a new pup in the near future?