Laura Gonzales

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Certified Labor Doula

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Strength and Dignity Doula Birth Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor Support

About

AREAS SERVED: Orting valley area, Puyallup, Bonney Lake, Tacoma, WA

CONTACT INFO:

Email: Laura.Gonzales13@hotmail.com

Phone: (817) 437-6607

Website: www.lauragonzales130.wixsite.com/strengthanddignity

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have four beautiful daughters that have taught me so much thru each of their pregnancies, birth & beyond!

What led you to become a Doula?: When my husband and I first learned we were pregnant he was just heading out the door for a 5 month deployment. I was just 2 months away from graduating with my Bachelors in Business Management, but all I could think about was this little life inside of me and how much I didn’t know! I spent that entire pregnancy reading every book I could and finding every article online. I was one of the first of my friends to be pregnant, so from there on out, everyone looked to me when they had questions and I LOVE that!

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Due to the nature of being a military spouse for 7 years, we had to move around quite a bit. Everyone always says, “I wish I could fly you to come stay with me to have this baby!”

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Ina May Gaskin, Penny Simkin, and Evidenced Based Birth

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: What a blessing! So exciting & what a wonderful adventure!

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: The feeling of being fully supported for their choices and always feeling dignified!

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Tough... TV Show-Smallville, Prison Break or Jericho probably... Movie- 10th Kingdom, Ever After, LOTR, Remember the Titans or maybe Blind Side. I have a wide array of genres I enjoy!

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Anywhere with my family! We love to go to my parent’s land in East Texas or the beaches in Washington or Oregon.

What is your favorite food?: Chocolate. Everything else is just an appetizer. ;)

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Snuggling up with my hubby and kiddos reading and playing games.

Who lives in your house?: My husband and I and our four beautiful daughters ages 7, 5, 3 & 1 as of Jan 2019. :)