Tracy Hudson

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Certified Childbirth Educator

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Maternal Instincts Childbirth Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Childbirth Educator

About

AREAS SERVED: Calgary, Airdrie, Chestermere, Cochrane, High River, Langdon, Okotoks, Strathmore

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (403) 801-4004

Email: tracy@maternalinstincts.ca

Website: http://www.maternalinstincts.ca

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: My employment experience has always been in customer service. I always enjoyed delivering what my customers wanted, sometimes going well beyond the call of duty. Personally, I've always been an empathetic nurturer - all the way back to my early childhood!

What led you to become a Doula?: After having my first two children and feeling unsupported through both labors, I read an article about midwives in a parenting magazine. Having always been passionate about birth and babies, I briefly considered a career change. Upon finding out that it was a 4 year university program only offered in other provinces, I jumped into doula work instead.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

I am always told I have a calming presence, I’m a good listener and have a big heart.

 

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: Ann Douglas books, Dr Jack Newman, Lamaze, and La Leche League

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I always want to know all about her pregnancy and birth, such as how she is dealing and coping. There is always a tinge of nostalgia when I remember my own pregnancies and babies.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Confidence! In herself, her birthing and parenting abilities. She knows whats best for her and her baby.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: The Walking Dead

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Anywhere tropical!

What is your favorite food?: Ice Cream!

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Hanging out with my husband and our 3 kids - literally anywhere! On a mountain hike, playing a board game, riding bicycles or whatever!

Who lives in your house?: My husband, our teenage son and 2 young daughters, my mom and our fat cat.