Kate Metten

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Labor, Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Bluegrass Doulas

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor & Postpartum Doula Services

About

AREAS SERVED: Louisville, Kentucky and surrounding 50 mile radius

CONTACT INFO:

Phone:  502-439-1991

Email:  info@bluegrassdoulas.com

Website:  www.bluegrassdoulas.com

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: I have an educational background in Special Education and Child Development. Prior to birth work, I spent 12 years working with families and children as a teacher and nanny. I certified as a birth doula and Childbirth Educator and continued my training as a postpartum doula and with various continuing education. I have further training supporting families experiencing infant loss.

What led you to become a Doula?: While I had always been interested in pregnancy and birth, the birth of my own two sons led me to realizing I wanted to make a career in the field.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

That I’m loving, passionate, knowledgeable and compassionate.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: For pregnancy, my favorite resource is the Lamaze for parents website. My favorite resource for new parents are the local in-person support groups at The Diaper Fairy Cottage.

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: When I see a new mom or pregnant woman I am excited for her to be in the transition of welcoming a new life and hope that she feels supported in all she does.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: The best gifts I can give to a new mom are to listen to her, be compassionate, validate her feelings and affirm her choices, and provide a safe space to simply be however she is at that moment.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Gilmore Girls and Fixer Upper.

What is your favorite place to vacation?: The beach! The 30a area of the Florida Panhandle is a family favorite.

What is your favorite food?: Ice Cream!

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Spending time with my family doing anything outdoors!

Who lives in your house?: My husband Adrian and our two boys, Levi and Luke.