Lauren Jacobs

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: CD Childbirth Educator, Pre-CD Labor, CD Postpartum & Infant Care

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Doulas of Orange County

SERVICES PROVIDED: Labor, Postpartum & Infant Care and Childbirth Education Classes

About

AREAS SERVED: Orange County, Long Beach

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: (562) 900-3264 (C) / (949) 791-7164 (O)

Email: lauren@doulasofoc.com

Website: www.doulasofoc.com

 

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: *

What led you to become a Doula?: I was introduced to birth work through a Prenatal Yoga teacher training. I was paired with a woman who, in addition to teaching prenatal yoga, was also a Birth Doula, an IBCLC, a Childbirth Educator, and in Midwifery school. I remember pestering her with questions about birth in general, but also about birth work. At the end of my Prenatal Yoga training my mentor encouraged me to look into becoming a Doula. Coincidentally at that time a friend from high school was pregnant and was interested in having me join her during her labor. I eventually took a Doula training to learn how to support her... little did I know, 9 years later I would be doing Birth & Postpartum work full time!

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Compassionate, Serene, Organized, Pro-Active, Driven, Calming, a Leader.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: BirthWithoutFear blog is a great resource and highlights all aspects of birth experiences, The Birth Partner by Penny Simpkin, Expecting Better by Emily Oster, Improving Birth website

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I generally wonder about how she's feeling - physically, but also mentally. I wonder how her pregnancy is going and what her thoughts/fears are about birth, breastfeeding or parenting. I'm also curious as to what type of birth and postpartum support she has in place. I hope she knows that she's beautiful and powerful and amazing... and if not, I tend to have the urge to tell her just that!

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: Confidence. Reassurance that her decisions are hers and hers alone. Encouragement that she can do this!

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: Outlander!

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Cuba

What is your favorite food?: Breakfast burritos

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: Hiking or at the beach

Who lives in your house?: Myself, 2 roommates and our Puggle, Lewis