Vanessa Groult

ProDoula

CURRENT STATUS: Pre-CD Postpartum

BUSINESS NAME/AFFILIATION: Vanessa Groult Doula Services

SERVICES PROVIDED: Postpartum Doula services, Mother and family support/helper, Babyminding, Snack and pastries preparation; Emergency Childcare First-Aid/CPR/AED Level B

About

AREAS SERVED: Comox Valley and surrounding areas

CONTACT INFO:

Phone: 604 369 5892

Email:  vanessa@doulacomox.com

Find me on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/vanessadoulaincomox/

Meet Your ProDoula

Background/Experience that you think is beneficial to Doula work: Big sister, Mom of 2 and in a relationship for more than 15 years. Born in a multicultural family, I grew-up in Paris, France and my travels took me to Europe, South America, North Africa and South-East Asia and now North America.

What led you to become a Doula?: I always enjoy taking care of other. My first baby was a preemie and my extended family doesn’t live close by, I received a lot of support from my Postpartum Doula and since then I started thinking about becoming a Postpartum Doula to help new families and give it back.

What are some positive comments made about you by other people?:

Smiling, friendly, good listener, very supportive, people regularly comment on my positive energy.

What are your favorite pregnancy/parenting resources?: When I have a question or a concern, I like to ask my entourage and the community. I also use the Newborn / Mother Hotline and website such as: Babycenter.ca, via Valley child.ca. and Naitreetgrandir.com

What thoughts come to mind when you see a pregnant woman or brand new mom?: I feel Joy, share and love. I always wonder if she and her partner have the support they need.

What is the best gift you can give a new mom (as a Doula)?: As a birth worker, the best gift will be food, smile and time to listen to her needs and feelings.

What is your favorite TV show or movie?: **

What is your favorite place to vacation?: Somewhere I haven’t visited yet.

What is your favorite food?: I love food but if I have to choose I will go for Eggs Benedict.

What is your favorite way to spend a day off?: It will start with a nice breakfast and then go outside for a hike or mushroom hunting with my family. If it’s raining I will do some art craft.

Who lives in your house?: My son (4 years old), my daughter (15 months) and my partner.